From the origins of Chinese opera

In partnership with the Ministry of Culture of the People’s Republic of China
With the participation of the Wu Opera of Zhejiang

 

The ancestry of the well-known Peking Opera lies with the Wu Opera, originally from Zhejiang. Telling of everyday life, it charms and captivates in this mountainous region of the south-east. The brightly coloured costumes, powerful voices and acrobatic performances of wandering artists all contribute to the happiness of the peasants. A local saying goes ‘when I hear the sound of its gongs and drums, my legs start to dance!’.

At every event, be it a birth, an anniversary or a prayer, the villagers club together to invite the best Wu Opera troupe. The festivities last for several days and feature rituals, incense and candles. The opera itself is an offering to the gods. Here, exclamations of joy combine with the cymbals and drums in a theatrical setting full of life and colour. When the troupe arrives in the village, everything stops!

The Wu Opera is more than 400 years old and takes its name from the old city of Wuzhou (now Jinhua). Some of the dances go back to ceremonies from the Shang and Zhou dynasties of more than 3000 years ago. The Zhejiang region is found along the flourishing trade routes for salt, silk, lacquerwork and porcelain. This trade benefitted the local troupes who were committed to offering more and more elaborate works while remaining accessible to the villagers. Wu encompasses the largest repertoire of songs from traditional operas and mobilises the qualities required for martial arts.

The troupe invited to Bab al Makina was founded in 1956 and has actively participated in historical research into Wu Opera. It has collected more than a thousand works and re-established associated crafts such as masks, costumes and make-up. Directed by Chen Mailan, Wu Opera has won honours on many occasions, notably winning the prize for non-tangible cultural heritage.

This programme draws on the rich imagery of Chinese mythology which itself is strongly inspired by the theme of water. In the watery world of rivers and seas, genies, serpents, dragons and even the Monkey King himself, do battle.

Event Date

13 May 2017

Event Time

09:00 PM

Ticket Price

(Français) Catégorie B

25 €

Event Location

Place Bab Makina

En partenariat avec le Ministère de la Culture de la République Populaire de Chine
Avec l’implication de l’Opéra Wu de Zhejiang

 

L’ancêtre du célèbre Opéra de Pékin n’est autre que l’Opéra Wu, originaire du Zhejiang. Appartenant au quotidien, il hypnotise et captive dans cette région montagneuse du sud-est. Les costumes colorés, les voix puissantes et les performances acrobatiques de ses artistes itinérants participent de la bonne humeur des paysans. Un dicton dit même : « quand j’entends le son des gongs et des percussions, mes jambes s’agitent ! »

À chaque événement, qu’il s’agisse d’une naissance, d’un anniversaire ou d’une prière, les villageois se cotisent pour inviter la meilleure troupe d’Opéra Wu. Les festivités, ponctuées de rituels, d’encens et de bougies durent plusieurs jours. Et l’opéra même est une offrande aux dieux. Ici, ce sont des exclamations de joie mêlées aux cymbales, aux tambours, dans un décor de théâtre vivant et haut en couleurs. Quand la troupe arrive au village, tout s’arrête !

L’Opéra Wu a plus de 400 ans et tirerait son nom de l’ancienne ville de Wuzhou (l’actuelle Jinhua). Certaines danses remonteraient même aux cérémonies des dynasties Shang et Zhou il y a plus de 3000 ans. Le Zhejiang se trouvait alors sur les florissantes routes du sel, de la soie, de la laque, de la porcelaine… Un commerce qui bénéficiait aux troupes locales vouées à proposer des pièces toujours plus exaltantes tout en restant à la portée des villageois. Le Wu englobe ainsi le plus large registre de chants issus des opéras traditionnels et mobilise les qualités propres aux arts martiaux.

La troupe invitée à Bab Al Makina, fondée en 1956, a activement participé aux recherches historiques sur l’Opéra Wu. Elle a collecté plus d’un millier d’œuvres, restituant les savoirs faire associés – confection des masques, costumes ou maquillages. Placée sous la direction de Chen Mailan, elle a été honorée à maintes reprises en Chine, notamment avec le prix du patrimoine culturel immatériel.

Ce programme puisera dans le riche imaginaire mythologique chinois, lui-même fortement inspiré par le thème de l’eau. Dans les mondes aquatiques, fleuves ou mers, les génies, serpents, dragons et même le Roi Singe, se livrent bataillent.

 

Date du Spectacle

13 mai 2017

Heure du Spectacle

09:00

Prix d'entrée

Catégorie B

25 €

Emplacement de l'évènement

Place Bab Makina