My heart is as helpless

As the river is

Inaccessible to all

And the waterfall follows its course

From the end of the spring

To the beginning of the sea

~ Maya Sabah, Syrian poet

Yasmine Hamdan is the rebellious princess in an Arab musical, particularly a Lebanese one. Representing a new genre, she engenders a timeless feeling, showing a kind of nomadic aristocracy and an echo of her incessant moving from a young age, from the Gulf of Beirut to Greece and on to France.

Conscious of the heritage of great Arab women singers of long ago, Yasmine is inspired by the artists of the Arab Peninsula to Egypt, from the beginning of the 20th century to the 1970s. Some of these are half-forgotten now and some still shine, including Aisha El Marta, Nagat El Saghira, Asmahan, Shadia and Mounira El Mehdeyya.

Yasmine presents her latest album, Al Jamilat (the beautiful ones) (March 2017/Crammed Discs). This album was made with English producers Luke Smith (Depeche Mode, Lily Allen) and Leo Abrahams (Brian Eno, Carl Barât), as well as with contributions from New York musicians Shahzad Ismaily (a follower of Laurie Anderson, Lou Reed, John Zorn and Marc Ribot) and Steve Shelley (member of the well-known group Sonic Youth).

Contrary to banal pop that rests awkwardly on the American model, Yasmin’s electro-folk style has mysterious elegance and ethereal sensuality where the theatricality is revealed through bewitching guitar riffs.

Website: http://www.yasminehamdan.com/en/

Excerpt: https://youtu.be/hSToVjkI278

Artistes

Event Date

17 May 2017

Event Time

08:00 PM

Ticket Price

Event Location

Salle de la Préfecture

Mon cœur est aussi impuissant

Que le fleuve

Inaccessible à toutes les parties

Et la chute creuse son cours

De la fin de la source

Jusqu’au début de la mer 

~ Maya Sabah (poétesse syrienne)

 

 

Yasmine Hamdan est la princesse rebelle d’une scène musicale arabe et plus particulièrement libanaise en pleine mutation. Incarnation d’un genre nouveau, elle délivre une émotion intemporelle, tout en témoignant d’une sorte d’aristocratie nomade, écho de ses déplacements incessants, à un jeune âge, du Golfe à Beyrouth, de la Grèce à la France.

Soucieuse de porter l’héritage féminin arabe d’antan, elle n’hésite pas à puiser son inspiration auprès de chanteuses du début du XXe siècle jusqu’aux années 1970, de la Péninsule arabique à l’Egypte. Certaines, femmes de l’ombre, certaines femmes de lumière telles Aisha El Marta, Nagat El Saghira, Asmahan, Shadia ou Mounira El Mehdeyya.

Yasmine présentera son nouvel album : Al Jamilat, « Les belles » (mars 2017 / Crammed Discs). Cette exploration, elle l’a imaginée avec la complicité des producteurs anglais Luke Smith (Depeche Mode, Lily Allen…) et Leo Abrahams (Brian Eno, Carl Barât…), ainsi qu’avec les contributions des musiciens new-yorkais Shahzad Ismaily (un fidèle de Laurie Anderson, Lou Reed, John Zorn ou Marc Ribot) et Steve Shelley (membre du célèbre groupe Sonic Youth).

À rebours d’une pop banalisée, calquée maladroitement sur un modèle américain, il y a dans son style electro-folk une élégance mystérieuse, une sensualité aérienne dont la théâtralité, de prime abord discrète, se révèle à travers des riffs de guitares étirés, envoûtants.

 

Site web : http://www.yasminehamdan.com/en/

Artistes

Date du Spectacle

17 mai 2017

Heure du Spectacle

08:00

Prix d'entrée

Emplacement de l'évènement

Salle de la Préfecture